In order to monitor the success, progress and development of golfers in the Leicestershire & Rutland Golf Union it was decided in 2009 to introduce an Order of Merit.

The original Order of Merit focused on performances in the county major tournaments and the inaugural winner was Jason Palmer from Kirby Muxloe Golf Club. In 2010, the Order of Merit was expanded to take into account performances in County matches (Pre-Season, Anglian League and Eastern Counties Foursomes). The winner of the Order or Merit is presented with a silver salver, donated by Stuart Marriott (Birstall Golf Club, L&RGU County Captain 2011, 2012 & 2013).

The 2017 Order of Merit started with the pre-season game against Warwickshire in March and will conclude after the  Anglian League game against Northamptonshire on 3rd September.

The current top 10 players in the 2017 Order of Merit, following the Leicestershire Fox on 13th August are:

James BillinghamCosby716.00
Joe HackLutterworth505.75
Scott WormleightonBirstall447.25
George RaittWhetstone348.00
Liam PlantCosby278.75
Chris BrookHinckley265.00
John FairbrotherCosby260.00
Steve SansomeBirstall254.00
Stuart MarriottBirstall221.50
Richard WalePark Hill219.25

Click here for the full list of scores

Previous Winners



Jevann Parmar2016 LRGU Order of Merit


Martin Anderson2015 LRGU Order of Merit
2014Martin Anderson2014 LRGU Order of Merit
2013Steve Sansome2013 LRGU Order of Merit
2012Steve Sansome2012 LRGU Order of Merit
2011Steve Sansome2011 LRGU Order of Merit
2010Steve Sansome2010 LRGU Order of Merit
2009Jason Palmer2009 LRGU Order of Merit